mctm logo Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics

The Dean Preble Award

Dean Preble

The Dean Preble Memorial is awarded annually to a Montana educator who has made significant contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics and who has consistently assumed a leadership role among math educators. Teacher-leaders at all levels, kindergarten through university, are eligible.

The Award
This award is given in memory of our colleague Dean Preble, who passed away from cancer in the fall of 1998. Dean was recognized for his unfailing support for mathematics education in the state of Montana. His dedication to the mathematics teaching profession, his love of his students, his involvement in state and national mathematics organizations, and his devotion to the improvement of mathematics education for all were unparalleled.

One of Dean's wishes was to establish an annual award to recognize outstanding teachers and leaders of mathematics in Montana. In keeping with his wish, MCTM created the Dean Preble Memorial Award. The award consists of an inscribed plaque, a $300 stipend, and a lifetime membership in MCTM. The award is presented at the MCTM annual meeting in October.

Award Criteria
Any member of MCTM may submit a nomination. Current members of the MCTM Board of Directors may not be nominated for this award.
  • The nominee must be a current MCTM member.
  • The nominee must have taught mathematics in Montana.
  • The nominee must have a record of significant and consistent contributions to the teaching and learning of mathematics.
  • The nominee must have a substantial record of participation and leadership in professional activities involving mathematics education.

Nomination Procedure
Nominations should consist of a maximum of two, double-spaced, typewritten pages and should directly address the criteria outlined above. The name, address, telephone number, and present position of both the nominee and the nominator must be included.

Deadline for submissions for the Dean Preble Memorial Award is June 15 annually. Nominations may be sent or e-mailed to:

Cliff Bara
Box 610
Troy - MT - 59935
[email protected]

Past Awardee
Year Elementary Secondary College/University
1999 Deb Johnson Larry Kaber Maurice Burke
2000 no nomination Jim Hamling no nomination
2001 no nomination Dick Seitz Glenn Allinger
2002 no nomination Karen Longhart Rick Billstein
2003 no nomination no nomination no nomination
2004 no nomination Terry Souhrada Johnny Lott
2005 Nina Miller Jacquie McDonald no nomination
No distinction on grade level.
Gary Bauer
Jean Howard
James Hirstein
Terri Dahl
Tony Riehl
Ellen Rose
Sherry Horyna
Bente Winston
Lisa Scott
David Erickson
Mary Buck
Jennie Luebeck

Go Back